Kicking off

It’s three weeks out until I set off into unknown regions of China and Central Asia.

I have a semblance of an idea about where I’m going, I have some handy contacts for the road ahead, and the Chinese visa is in the pipeline (although after the amount of grief it’s caused me I’m tempted to frame it and keep it in a locked box, instead of in the passport).

Should I have thought this through a little more in the last three years I’ve been saving and dreaming? Probably.

Should I be cheerfully embarking on a trip into the most ignored region in the world with nary more than a nonchalant hair flip, a slightly better than average insurance policy, and a devil-may-care attitude? Probably not.

But then again, they do say that Central Asia is the place where plans go to die…

2 thoughts on “Kicking off

Leave a Reply

